Youth Services Center worker named county “Employee of the Year”

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (ADAMS) – The Allen County Board of Commissioners has presented its “Employee of the Year” award for 2018 to a worker at the county’s Youth Services Center for regularly going “above and beyond his job description.” Jeff Moore received the award Thursday during a special ceremony at the YSC facility on Lima Road. Along with the individual award, his name will be added to a perpetual plaque containing the names of all Employee of the Year award winners. Moore is a transportation officer with Youth Services Center. He’s been employed by the county since October of 1996.

Allen County Commissioner Nelson Peters presents the county Employee of the Year Award to Jeff Moore of Youth Services Center.

Moore’s nomination was submitted by the YSC administration. “Jeff regularly takes the initiative to go above and beyond his job description and he is always looking for more tasks to complete. For example, he mows the property’s grass, comes in early to set up breakfast when the cooks are unavailable and works weekends and holidays to help with staffing concerns. Every Friday, Jeff fuels all of the Youth Services Center vehicles, does maintenance checks and ensures they are kept in order. Jeff had picked up a third shift Youth Care Worker’s hours to cover a vacancy and to cut overtime costs and arranged his schedule to take another day off during the week.”

In December 2015, the Board of Commissioners started the County Civil Service Award program to allow employees to recognize colleagues who, in their opinion, go above and beyond the essential requirements of their position. To be considered, nominees must clearly demonstrate one or more of the following – exceptional service, noteworthy commitment or efficient and innovative ideas.

Because of the program’s success, the Commissioners established the “Allen County Employee of the Year” program to reward the employee or employees who stand out from the rest each year. The Employee of the Year is selected from the list of employees who have been recognized with a Civil Service Award in the calendar year.